Huberdeau wins Calder Trophy as top rookie

Posted on 15th June 2013 by hockeymedia in Rookies,The Want List

NHLHockey collectors love a good rookie. This past season, Jonathan Huberdeau of the Florida Panthers was the best of the best, winning the Calder Memorial Trophy as the most outstanding rookie for the 2012-13 season.

Huberdeau of St-Jérôme, QC played all 48 games in his rookie season with the Panthers. He co-led the rookie race with 31 points, capping off a fine season with a three-point effort in the finale (as did co-leader Nail Yakupov). Huberdeau beat out other rookie finalists Brendan Gallagher (Montréal Canadiens) and Brandon Saad (Chicago Blackhawks) for the Calder Trophy.

Despite playing the full season, Huberdeau has yet to be featured on an official rookie card after card companies agreed to save this year’s crop for the 2013-14 season. Card collectors can expect to chase the first Huberdeau RCs this summer in 2013-14 O-Pee-Chee and 2013-14 Score.

The full list of 2012-13 NHL award winners is listed below:
Ted Lindsay Award (Most Outstanding Player): Sidney Crosby
Hart Trophy (Most Valuable Player): Alex Ovechkin
Vézina Trophy (Best Goaltender): Sergei Bobrovsky
James Norris Trophy (Best Defenceman): P.K. Subban
Calder Trophy (Oustanding Rookie): Jonathan Huberdeau
Frank Selke Trophy (Best Defensive Forward): Jonathan Toews
Jack Adams Award (Coach of the Year): Paul MacLean
General Manager of the Year: Ray Shero
Lady Byng Trophy (Sportsmanship, Gentlemanly Conduct): Martin St-Louis
NHL Foundation Player Award: Henrik Zetterberg
King Clancy Trophy (Leadership, Humanitarian): Patrice Bergeron
Bill Masterton Trophy (Perseverance, Sportsmanship, Dedication): Josh Harding
Messier Leadership Award: Daniel Alfredsson
Maurice Richard Trophy (Most Goals): Alex Ovechkin
Art Ross Trophy (Most Points): Martin St-Louis
William Jennings Trophy (Best Teams Goals-Against Average): Corey Crawford and Ray Emery

Facebook comments: