AHL Hall of Fame names four to Class of 2013

Posted on 28th September 2012 by hockeymedia in The Want List,Tribute | Tags:

NHLThe American Hockey League has announced the class of 2013, with four new members to be honoured on Jan. 28, 2013 as part of the Dunkin’ Donuts AHL All-Star Classic. The four new inductees are Harvey Bennett, Ken Gernander, Jim Morrison and Peter White.

“With their illustrious careers and outstanding achievements, these four individuals represent the best of the best in the storied history of the American Hockey League,” said David Andrews, AHL President and Chief Executive Officer. “The AHL Board of Governors unanimously approves the Selection Committee’s recommendation for their induction into the American Hockey League Hall of Fame.”

Formed in 2006 to recognize, honor and celebrate individuals for their outstanding achievements and contributions in the American Hockey League, the AHL Hall of Fame is housed on-line at www.AHLHallofFame.com and is accessible to fans worldwide with the click of a mouse as part of the AHL Internet Network. The Network also includes TheAHL.com and all 30 official team sites, and hosts more than 250 million page views each year.

In operation since 1936, the AHL continues to serve as the top development league for the players, coaches, managers, executives and broadcasters of all 30 National Hockey League teams, as well as the NHL’s on-ice officials. By season’s end in 2011-12, more than 88 percent of all NHL players were American Hockey League graduates, including more than 200 former first- and second-round draft picks and more than 300 players who appeared in both leagues last season alone.

Facebook comments: